Worship (February 23)

It’s often easy to do something for the Lord…But I’ve found it to be more of a puzzle to figure out how, from my limited perspective, to do nothing for Him!

I am what you would call a project-oriented person, as is my husband. We are never without a project, never without something that we’re working on…

When we were in Kansas, we completely remodeled our house room-by-room, scraping popcorn ceilings, removing wallpaper, painting, replacing flooring, replacing drywall, installing all new fixtures, pouring concrete kitchen countertops, everything! And Joe always had a furniture-project going in his “spare” time. We landscaped and gardened. During our last year or so, Joe was learning how to switch from power tools to woodworking by hand; I was learning how to sew; we were packing and planning a 6-week cross-country camping trip…And of course, we were doing all the normal daily activities of cooking, cleaning, working, raising kids, having fun 🙂

Moving to Washington brought some different projects…We spent more time hiking and exploring, Joe learned more about photography, we gardened and embarked on small-farming projects, we biked, Joe learned how to make his own tools, we leveled a four-car parking area by hand, re-built the truck engine, started homeschooling…Still, no shortage of projects! Each project we set out upon was from the Lord, and so no matter how challenging it seemed, we had the confidence of completing it in Him.

So when He told us we were moving to Texas, the projects were no problem – prepare, pack, plan, sell…Everything was ready in pretty short-order, given His energy and the training He had provided us in working with Him on projects.

And then we didn’t go anywhere. But we didn’t have any new projects to start while we waited. And, in fact, since the Lord led us to pack everything up into our trailer, we couldn’t even get to the stuff we would use to start a new project! Now doesn’t that just go to show that the Lord has a new teaching for us in this season?

I have wondered and prayed about this…I have a distinct discomfort with the feeling of not having something to do. And so I’ve asked the Lord if there is something that I’m supposed to be doing. Because I’m afraid that I might be missing it, lol! And all I have been hearing, as a soft and gentle and vague and general feeling, is “Wait…Trust…Worship, Adore…”

So each day, I remember that God said we were moving to Texas…And, as Abraham knew, and Noah knew, as the prophets knew, and countless others in biblical history knew, God’s truth does not diminish with the passage of time. So if I know God’s sending us to Texas, I also know that no matter how long the wait, it is in accordance with His perfect timing, which He already knew from the first moment that He revealed to us that we were moving. And if that’s true, then He is doing a perfect work in our lives during this very unique time that He has given us, even if, to me, it feels suspiciously like nothing is happening!

Each day, I continue to seek being more completely dedicated to the Lord. Without other distractions, what better use of my time than to think of Him often, to think of what it means to honor Him in my day, to read His Word more frequently…All that good stuff! As Brother Lawrence said, …the end we ought to propose to ourselves is to become, in this life, the most perfect worshippers of God we can possibly be, as we hope to be through all eternity” (Fourth Conversation).

The most perfect worshippers of God…What does that mean? I asked Joe what he thought, and he said “I think of worshipping as having every thought and every action focused on Him.” That we would worship God, not only when we’re singing to Him in church or at home, but that our worship of God would be completely interwoven into each moment, each action, each thought, each breath of our days, which are all given by Him…

Which is what Scripture teaches…My mouth is filled with your praise, declaring your splendor all day long (Psalm 71:8 NIV)…Take your everyday, ordinary life – your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking around life – and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him (Romans 12:1-2 MSG)…”’For in Him we live and move and have our being’” (Acts 17:28 NIV)…

Which is what Brother Lawrence knew…He often calls men blind, complaining that we are content with too little. God has infinite treasures to give us, he says. Why should we be satisfied with a brief moment of worship? (First Letter)…I have been serving God simply, in humility and faith. Out of love, I try not to say or do, or think anything that might offend Him (Fifth Letter)…My day-to-day life consists of giving God my simple, loving attention (Fifth Letter)…Let us often remember, my dear friend, that our sole occupation in life is to please God. What meaning can anything else have? (Ninth Letter)…

Which is what I hope to be learning right now…Without a project, without a something that I’m doing for God (as though He needs it!), that I could be learning to do everything and even “nothing” for Him and with Him and through Him!

It’s more difficult than I would have necessarily thought, as my mind wants to be distracted by the world, and my nature wants something to do, and feels frustrated by “lack of progress”, and my emotions tend towards crabbiness in a feeling of “limbo” …But I have faith, and I trust and I hope, and I continue to give thanks for a time to slow down and reflect, to grow a habit of thinking about the Lord, loving Him, praising Him, thanking Him and asking for His help often…

And enjoying and finding Him in His creation, which is always there, right outside the back door or along any number of trails and parks, singing praises to Him and revealing His glory all the time! 

IMG 3881

This is a life’s work, and it’s a good time to get started!


Leave a Reply

